When you are building your site you might want to prevent people from seeing your site. Maintenance mode allows you to put the site online and offline so that your site is not available through search engines or anyone typing in the URL. Instead, they will see a message you created letting them know your site is not available.
When your site is deployed, it is in the Maintenance mode. You can put your site online at any time or change the message in the following way: